How do the Knockout Rounds work?

For the Knockout Rounds, coaches Blake Shelton, Kelly Clarkson, John Legend and Ariana Grande pair two members of their team against each other. What makes this different than the Battle Rounds is each artist selects their own song for the sing-off and then their coach decides who is the winner. The Mega Mentor for the Knockout Rounds was none other than music icon Ed Sheeran, who worked with all four coaches as they prepped their artists for this final step in the competition before the Live Playoffs. This season, there isn’t a Four-Way Knockout like last season, where viewers voted for one of the Saved artists to go to the Live Shows. Rather, each coach will have one Save that gives them a chance to keep a deserving artist who did not win their Battle on their team. And each coach has one Steal. Here is how the first night of Knockout Rounds played out:

Who Went Home on The Voice Season 21 Knockout Rounds Night 1

Hailey Green

Jonathan Mouton Kinsey Rose Sabrina Dias

Advancing Artists on The Voice Season 21 Knockout Rounds Night 1

Girl Named Tom

Gymani Holly Forbes Joshua Vacanti Katie Rae Libianca Raquel Trinidad Wendy Moten

Knockout Round 1:  Jonathan Mouton vs Wendy Moten from Team Blake

Song:  Jonathan: “I Can See Clearly Now” by Johnny Nash Wendy: “Ain’t No Way” by Aretha Franklin Winner: Wendy Moten, 56, Nashville, Tenn. Blake said: “This is the tough part of the Knockouts. Jonathan blew me away. The only problem with that is Wendy blew the building away and I fully expect to see her in the finale.”

Knockout Round 2: Raquel Trinidad vs Katie Rae from Team Ariana

Song: Raquel: “Valerie” by The Zutons Katie: “Hold on to Me” by Lauren Daigle Winner: Raquel Trinidad, 23, Miami, Fla. Ariana said: “I went with Raquel because I am excited to work with her from a technical standpoint, exploring what other areas of her voice we can tap into.” Steal: Katie Rae, 35, Sacramento, Calif. goes to Team Kelly Kelly said: “I used my only Steal on Katie Rae because I feel like I don’t have anyone like her on my team. I’ve wanted Katie Rae since the Blinds, so I finally got her."

Knockout Round 3: Gymani vs Kinsey Rose from Team Kelly

Song: Gymani: “Pillowtalk” by Zayn Kinsey Rose: “Strawberry Wine” by Deana Carter Winner: Gymani, 23, East Point, Georgia Kelly said: “What Gymani did with ‘Pillowtalk,’ let me know she really came to win.”

Knockout Round4:  Joshua Vacanti vs Sabrina Dias from Team Legend

Song: Joshua: “Falling” by Harry Styles Sabrina: “Photograph” by Ed Sheeran Winner: Joshua Vacanti, 28, Lockport, N.Y. John said: “I really love the Knockouts because we’re getting down to the best of the best. The pressure is on. I love working with both of them. I just think that Joshua has so much character and power, I felt like he was the winner.”

Knockout Round 5: Libianca vs Hailey Green from Team Blake

Song: Hailey: “God’s Country” by Blake SheltonLibianca: “Everything I Wanted” by Billie Eilish Winner: Libianca, 20, Minneaepolis, Minn. Blake said: “My heart is broken now no matter who I chose, but there was no way I was going to let Libianca leave. I feel like she had the tallest mountain to climb, and she was able to get it together. As a coach, there is no way I can’t reward that.”

Knockout Round 6: Girl Named Tom vs Holly Forbes from Team Kelly

Song: Girl Named Tom: “Wichita Lineman” by Glen Campbell Holly: “Superstar” by Delaney & Bonnie Winner: Girl Named Tom (Caleb, 26, Joshua, 24, Bekah, 20), South Bend, Ind. Kelly said: “Holly had such a rad voice, but I had to pick Girl Named Tom because they sound amazing together, and they showed how each of them sound alone and they could hold their own.” Steal: Holly Forbes, 30, Catlettsburg, Kentucky goes to Team Ariana Ariana said: “I used my Steal on Holly. I’ve loved her from the start. She adds so much value to Team Ariana. I fought John tooth and nail. Having her choose me was such a beautiful, full-circle moment.” The Voice airs Monday and Tuesday nights at 8 p.m. ET/PT on NBC. Next, Here’s What We Know About Season 21 of The Voice, Including the Mega Mentor

The Voice Results  Who Went Home on Night One of The Voice Season 21 s Knockout Rounds  2021  - 41