Read on for my interview with Sydney, and make sure to check in with Parade.com every day for interviews with this season’s contestants and other tidbits. Survivor 41 premieres on Sept. 22 with a special two-hour premiere on CBS. What’s your history with watching Survivor? I’ve been watching since I could remember. When it was on Thursdays, we’d have people over for Thursday parties. It was so fun when I was young; it was always something to look forward to. I used to have a Survivor buff I would wear as a dress. When I was living abroad, I used to stream it illegally because I was too cheap to buy a VPN. It’s always just been a part of my life. Always something that’s gotten me excited for the week. Something to look forward to. I don’t know it inside and out like a lot of people do, but I definitely have a firm understanding of the show. Give me one Survivor winner and one non-winner who you identify with the most. I think for Survivor winner I would be a lot like Denise because she’s so well-spoken. I think I’m very well-spoken. She was a strong competitor. She’s athletic, educated, but she was chill enough. She was just the perfect balance of everything. So when I rewatched her season, I’m like, “Yes, I think I want to mimic a gameplay like hers.” For a non-winner…I don’t identify as this person, but it’s just my favorite player of all time: Russell Hantz. I love Russell so much. And I guess I do identify with him a little bit because Russell is unapologetically himself and I appreciate anyone who’s unapologetically themselves. Even though he’s probably one of the most hated players, he owns it, and I appreciate that so much. And I enjoyed every single minute of watching Russell play. What’s one life experience you feel has prepared you most for the game? I think what has prepared me most for this game is my history as an athlete. I was a Division I track and field runner, a California State Champion in cross country, a runner up in track for the two-mile. It taught me mental stamina. There’s no timeouts, there’s no out of bounds. Once you go, that’s it. You’re going until you cross that finish line. There’s no pacing yourself when you’re running a mile or even when you’re just holding on for dear life on a cross country course. Another experience, I would say, was hiking in the Andes Mountains in Peru. I don’t really like walking; I’m a runner. And I don’t really love mountains; I’m an L.A. girl who loves the beach. And I just thought it was a great idea to do the hardest hiking trail all the way to Machu Picchu. It was absolutely miserable. But I call it “retrospective fun.” It taught me how long days can be, especially when you’re completely isolated and you’re exhausted. I was outside, camping in high altitude. I think that as a weeklong experience prepared me so much for the elements. What do you think people will perceive you as? I think people will perceive me as a little wild. I’ll eat anything. I’m probably just gonna pick up a random bug and put it in my mouth. I don’t like to wear clothes, so I’m always going to be in minimal clothing. I think people are just going to see me as a fiery personality. I’m hoping it’s not perceived as annoying but honestly I don’t care. What do you desire in an alliance partner? That’s an interesting question. I see alliances as so fleeting. Loyalty is really fleeting in the show. I’m not pro-alliance, I’m not anti-alliance, I think I’m just gonna feel it out. Because it is a lot about voting blocs and trust clusters as somebody once put it. But I think ideally, I find that one person who I truly trust, but who other people don’t think I really trust. It’s a more inherent sense of trust that doesn’t need to be talked about all the time, so people don’t know that we’re BFFLs. What’s your current game plan for when you touch down on the beach? My first order of business is just building relationships. I don’t even want to bring up strategy at the very beginning. I want to be like, “I’m Sydney, here’s where I’m from. Tell me about yourself.” I’m going to keep asking questions. If you have kids, tell me about your kids! People love talking about themselves, about their children, their favorite food, I don’t know. But I want them to talk so I can feel them out as people and so they can like me as a person. Because at the end of the day, if they like me, and they want to keep me around, that’s enough to get past hopefully the first vote. From that point, then you can see where the lines are drawn. What will people underestimate in you the most on Survivor? I think I’m honestly going to be a little overestimated. Since I am very well spoken, I think people think I just have a next-level brain. But I’m not very good at puzzles, and I know that’s a big part of the show. So, if anything, I might be overestimated in some aspects. How much authenticity do you plan on bringing into the game? Authenticity, like loyalty and alliances, are fleeting. It really depends. But it’s hard for me to not be who I am just because I am so extra. I definitely plan on being myself. The aspects of myself that I do plan on not disclosing fully are going to be as close to the truth as possible. The game is long and it is hard to maintain a lie. I think for the most part, I will be authentic. And the parts that are maybe a little bit of a fib are going to be as close to the truth as possible. Which is more important to your game: Strategy or social? I would like to say it was strategy, but it’s probably going to be social. The game has changed so much and I feel like the best way to get to the top is just being the jack of all trades. Not being the best at anything, but being almost the best at everything. When you’re at your lowest moment in the game, what’s one happy memory you’ll pull from in your time of need? Just thinking about my family in general and everything back home. Even now with not having my phone and having a lot of downtime, I just think of the little things I love like biking to the beach or running with my track coach or cuddling with Ben. My mom’s cooking, walking with my dad in Beverly Hills to the local pond, which he does literally every day. Just the little things. Which is funny because I wouldn’t peg myself as a “little things” person. What celebrity or fictional character would you want to come out for a Loved Ones visit? Oh, Rocky Balboa! Or James Bond. They’re my idols in life. People ask, “Who’s your idol? Mother Teresa?” No, Rocky! Probably James Bond though ‘cause he’s hotter. Oh, man, 007. Oh my god, they’re my idols. I used to have Rocky and James Bond shrines in my room. They’re my inspiration; they’re unbeatable. What I love about Rocky, is that even when he is beaten, he’s still the best. I’m just like Rocky. I’ll talk a big game. And let’s just say it doesn’t happen. Then what? I’m still breathing. I’ll still talk a big game, and the next time maybe it will happen or maybe it won’t happen. You get the opportunity to use magic once while playing the game of Survivor. What do you use it for? I mean, this is two sides of this coin. I feel like I’m either first out or I’m winning. So I would use magic to give myself immunity at the first Tribal Council or give myself the automatic win at the last Tribal Council. Next, check out our interview with Survivor 41 contestant Xander Hastings.

Sydney Segal   Survivor 41 Cast Member - 93