“I’m still like, ‘Hi, my name is Trevor,’” he confessed to PEOPLE Now in 2017. “You know what’s nice? A lot of women are really nice people and they go, ‘Alright, you idiot, I’ll talk to you.’ And it all works out!” At least, it does for a while: Noah and Minka Kelly were an on-again-off-again item for the better part of two years, but it seems like they’re off for good. A source told PEOPLEin May 2022, “Minka is single now. [She] has the best attitude. She is very happy. She’d rather be single than waste her time with the wrong guy.” A second source revealed, “[Kelly and Noah] have been broken up for a while.” They previously split in May 2021, but reconciled shortly thereafter.

Who is Trevor Noah’s girlfriend?

The Daily Show host is currently single. He most recently was in a relationship with Minka Kelly, daughter of former Aerosmith guitarist Rick Dufay. The actress is known for her role as Lyla Garrity on NBC’s Friday Night Lights. Reflecting on her role in 2019, she wrote, “13 (wow) years ago tonight @pberg44 changed my life. I was living out of a suitcase in my girlfriend’s apartment when I got the call that I’d be moving to Austin. I called the surgery center where I worked as a scrub nurse and told them I’d be leaving for some football show in Texas but I’ll see you guys again as soon as I’m back. There was no way a show about football - that was already a movie - about a player who breaks his neck in the pilot episode is going anywhere but a job is a job amirite!” The TV star added, “But it wasn’t about football. It was about relationships, family, humanity, love and loss. It was about longing to fit in and wanting to get out. It was about life in a small town and how a community comes together in good times and bad. Little did I know I hit the proverbial jackpot and the show would go on for 5 years. I’m forever grateful. Clear eyes. Full hearts. Can’t lose. Texas Forever.” Aside from playing cheerleader Lyla, she has also portrayed Jacqueline Kennedy in Lee Daniels’ The Butler and Eve French in the short-lived Charlie’s AngelsTV series. While Kelly has starred in various TV shows and films, she did not set out to become an actress when she moved to Los Angeles at age 19. “I moved to California not to pursue acting but to get out of Albuquerque,” she admitted in a 2008 interview with Men’s Health. “I started working right away. I had four jobs.” Noah isn’t the first celeb Kelly has been linked to. The actress has previously dated Jesse Williams, Donald Faison, Derek Jeter, Chris Evans and John Mayer. During a radio interview in 2016, Kelly addressed rumors about her love life. “I think it comes with the territory. It’s a small price to pay for the extraordinary life that I live,” she said (via E! News). “I think if they’re paying attention, that must mean there’s something [I’m doing right].” “Look, if it’s true and it’s out, then it’s true and it’s out,” Kelly added. “When it’s not true and it’s out, it’s really frustrating. You just have to find the comedy in all of it.”

When did Trevor Noah and Minka Kelly start dating?

PEOPLE magazine confirmed in August of 2020 that Kelly and Noah were an item. “They’re very happy,” an insider said. “It’s a very serious relationship.” Although Noah is a comedian, he likely did not crack a joke when he first met Kelly. “Never open with a joke. It is the most horrible thing,” he told PEOPLE Now of opening the door with women. “Jokes require context. Without context, you’re just some random person who came and told someone they fell from angels of Heaven, or some randomness, and if you mess it up you look worse and it seems like an insult. No humor! Just say hello. That’s it!”

They lived together, which Trevor Noah used to oppose.

Months after news broke of their relationship, PEOPLE reported that Noah and Kelly moved in together. A source revealed that in December, the TV personality purchased a $27.5 million home in Bel-Air for them to share. “They’re making plans for a future together, and it’s a very stable relationship,” a source told PEOPLE at the time. “They’ve been spending time between coasts over the last year and had been looking for a place in L.A. as a couple.” The pair appeared to be serious since Noah has seemingly changed his stance on living with a partner. He previously told Howard Stern, “I’m a big advocate for not living together ever, even if you’re married.” He continued, “I think one of the biggest reasons people get divorced and relationships break up is because of this cohabiting bullsh-t that we’ve come to believe is the way relationships are supposed to be.” Although he might not have been a fan of living together with someone at the time, Noah noted that he was “not opposed” to marriage. During his 2019 appearance on The Howard Stern Show, he said, “I can only know where I am now in life, and that’s what I’ve learned to enjoy.”

Minka Kelly and Trevor Noah seemed perfect for each other.

Long before her relationship with Noah, Kelly once admitted to Men’s Health, “I really don’t like dating.” But if someone wanted to date her, she asked, “Just be my friend and ask me if I want to hang out.” The Friday Night Lights alum is attracted to men who are passionate and have drive. “A man has to be passionate about something,” she shared. “He has to be focused and genuine. He has to have drive.” Kelly also wanted a man who believed “careers are our first loves.” She said, “I think a career should be as important for him as it is for me. And that we should be able to understand that we come second.” Or maybe not so much, at least not anymore: A source told PEOPLEin May 2022 that they split because Noah was “too focused on work and didn’t have enough time for a relationship. He’s back in the dating game as well. They’re officially over.” For Noah, it’s all about authenticity. “I gravitate towards real people in life,” he told Stern in 2019. Honesty is also important for the South African comedian. “When we meet people, we should tell them who we are. Be honest,” he said. “You know why? You should have the person love you, or hate you for who you are, not for who you portray yourself to be.” The pair went Instagram official in January 2022.

Pandemic dating might have been easy for them—at least at first.

The actress has previously described her “ideal night” as dinner at home and a movie with a glass of wine. She told Esquire, “Every time I’m in my sweats and I get my blanket and my pillows and I’m on the couch about to watch a movie, I find myself saying, ‘This is the life.’” Next, see all the 2021 Grammy nominees. 

Minka Kelly   Trevor Noah Relationship Before Breakup - 57